Anatolian food-something I’d never tried before our dinner at Tas Pide. I was excited to see a menu full of unpronounceable choices. Lists of the ingredients was enough to go off of in choosing appealing dishes. My appetizer consisted of spinach, aubergrine and tomatoes. It was a cold dish.  I regretted choosing from the cold section versus the hot, as the texture of my appetizer was not appealing. My vegetarian pide, however was fantastic-I devoured it. Apparently a pide is an Anatolian style of bread baking; I decided on the pide when I read this on the cover. Just a couple years ago I discovered naan, the Indian style bread, so I was excited to try another variety of bread from that area of the world.

I didn’t regret my choice whatsoever. The pide came out shaped like a boat-and was designed to be eaten by hand. I absolutely love foods that you can pick up to eat. First off, it’s just fun to feel like a kid. Eating by hand made it feel more akin to pizza, and sometimes the metal of a utensil can affect the taste. That might just be me being weird, but I do so enjoy eating sans utensils in restaurants. It makes me feel like I’m cheating the Man.. in a small sort of way.

For desert, I debated heavily between.. well all the desserts, but I finally narrowed it down to the baklava and the apricots in cream. I thought it would be interesting to try baklava made in an Anatolian style, but I eventually chose the apricots, because how often does a restaurant offer such a dessert?

When the apricots arrived I was kind of surprised. At home when you say a dessert has cream, that means half and half. But the cream in these apricots was thick and rich. The outside of these sugary confections was lightly covered in pistachios, offering a nice contrast of texture and taste. Hopefully there are similar restaurants in the KC area that I will be able to find and try. I don’t want that to be the only pide I ever eat.

