Driving up in the bus, the first thing I notice about Bath was that the houses had space between them; out in the countryside there’s no need to put all the buildings right up next to each other. As Bath is not very far out of London, I can see how this countryside would appeal to the wealthy. Here London still feels convenient and connected, but you get the benefits of country space.

In the streets around the Roman Baths and Abbey, there are tons of shops. The boutiques seemed very.. pricey. The contents of the shops were the sorts of things that are completely unnecessary: fancy clothes, souvenirs, and things of that nature. Basically, the shops stay open because there are a lot of people around that have money to burn. I know that most of those people are probably tourists, but it seems to me that the clothing shops do a brisk loca l trade.

Also, the Pump Room seemed pretty telling of the local atmosphere. The afternoon tea menu was pricey! My coffee and scones were delicious, but the menu was filled with very expensive items. The room was elegant and the host seemed the sort of snobby you see in posh places. It was fun to play the elegant upper class for a day, eating scones in the Pump Room, and looking through the fashionable dresses in the boutique Apricot, but Bath is not my kind of city. I think the city is very elegant; I was impressed by the green spaces in Bath, and the way the streets were laid out, but cities that so blatantly cater to the tastes of the wealthy are only interesting to visit. I definitely could not have handled the Bath of Jane Austen’s time.

